Skip to content

Forgotten September

October 19, 2012

I seem to have lost September and part of October. It’s not that I haven’t worked on my 365 Day challenge. I just have not found the time to document it until now. I chose animals as my theme for September and it was a fun one that I will definitely expand on. In the first couple of weeks I was finishing a quilt for my son’s wedding and it did have a bear, loons, deer, wolves and moose, so it fit right in.

wedding quilt for Bryan and Heather

I spent a good portion of the month looking for inspiration and patterns. I found it in some usual and some slightly less usual places. I collected some coloring books and books about drawing to help with my design process. I have children’s books to use too. I have found some wonderful animal ideas in very old crafting books that I’ve collected along the way. That is where these basic little gingham toys came from. I love gingham.

I found a wonderful book of knitted toys called “Animal Friends, Two by Two” by Jeanne Stauffer and Diane Schmidt.
It has an afghan and small animals to go with it. The animals are just the right size and cuddlesomeness. Very precious little toys.

These are some of the animals that came from it. The blue dog and pink pig were not in the book. I designed those myself using the patterns in the book for a base.

knitted toy animals

So now it’s already October and I’m working on some charity projects. My quilt guild makes preemie hats to warm the wee noggins at our local hospital. I’ve been working on those. We are also making some lap quilts for our local Ronald MacDonald House. I’m loving working with all of my bright fabrics.

tiny knit hats for charity

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2012 7:47 pm

    Well even if you didn’t get anything written down it still looks like you have been very busy! I love the little gingham animals they are so cute. Thanks for sharing with us. 🙂

  2. January 4, 2013 2:39 am

    Loving the gingham and crocheted! Your charity work is so admirable!

Leave a Reply

