Skip to content

Drawing animals and whimsy

August 30, 2012

I haven’t forgotten my drawing. I just haven’t taken the time to photograph it. In the spirit of absolute honesty, I haven’t drawn every day, but I probably have a drawing for every day in the month. One thing this whole 365 Day Challengeis teaching me is a profound respect for other artisans.  I like to watch artists on TV who use pencils and paint and paper and canvas for their tools, and it seems so simple. Just jot down a few lines and there you have a squirrel or a car or a tree. Add a little shading, mix up the colors and it’s a whole landscape. Not so much for us amateurs. Our lines turn into scribbles, maybe a troll or a rock looking sort of thing. But I remind myself that this whole challenge was never really about the quality of the work. It has always been about the fun and the chance to explore different crafts, and I simply enjoy sitting down with a pencil and paper and drawing what comes to my mind. It very rarely looks like what I imagine, but sometimes I can at least recognize it! An improvement from my early days. Here are some of my drawings. I think I’ll stick to  my needle and thread. As a matter of fact, I can see some of these being turned into fabric art. Somehow I can make fabric bend to my will better than a pencil.

Believe it or not, that is an owl at the bottom.

a year’s worth of doodles

inspired by the flowers on my table

this has got to be part of a funky quilt some day soon

under the sea

a slightly misshapen sprite, love the face though

OK, he really is supposed to be a troll

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 30, 2012 12:25 am

    I agree completely with you. Went I sit down to do my drawings for my pillows I keep telling myself…..”all I need to do is draw like a 5 year old and I am good to go”! I can’t draw a stickman straight with a ruler, but I keep trying. I like the flower you did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

