Skip to content

Felt, Quilting, Painting, Flowers and Fun, Mostly Fun

July 23, 2012

Saturday the  14th, and I’m still working with flowers. I used my die cut felt shapes to make these little pretties. Eventually they’ll be purse embellishments, pins, maybe a pillow applique.

Five days, five flowers. I drew the pictures of these and then made them into applique quilt blocks to go into a patchwork shower curtain I have planned. I used my hand dyed fabrics, giving them amazing depth.

Now we’re up to Friday the 20th. I took out these beautiful floral fabrics to put together with the appliqued blocks and spent the day with my rotary cutter.

Needle felting is something I’ve been wanting to do and I had the equipment for it right in my studio, along with some wool roving  that I had dyed with simple kitchen food color.  Here’s my needle punch bouquet punched into a piece of felted crochet. The picture isn’t fuzzy, that’s just the texture of the felt. I don’t know what it will be yet. I also made a couple of tiny little mushrooms, about 1 inch each, just for fun. For a tutorial on dyeing wool roving with food color and koolaid (yes, koolaid!) check out Mom’s Crafty Space. It’s very much like dyeing Easter eggs and just as much fun.

On Saturday, I felt like painting again, so I found a t-shirt, changed it up a little by shortening the hems and changing the neckline,  and painted two of my favorite flowers on it, daisies and pansies. To find out how to change the neckline on a t-shirt , visit Laura’s Sewing Studio.

On Sunday it was finally time to try some yo yos.  I had to, I’m a quilter after all. I found some tiny little clay pots while I was looking for something else so I made these tiny yo yos and a few other fabric flowers in miniature form with teeny tiny buttons. This little plant is about three inches tall.

Now, what’s next?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 24, 2012 4:44 pm

    Looks like the flowers are turning out really nice! I really like the way you appliqued them on the blocks. Have fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

