Skip to content

The Color of Fun

June 2, 2012

Here are the dolls, all dressed up. I have to say, it’s been so much fun playing around with these little characters. It’s as if they let me know who they are and what kind of hair and clothes they need as I work with them. I’m sure all you doll makers out there will understand. I’ve decided not to name them, I believe they’ll want to share their naming with the little ones who choose to welcome them into their homes. I will definitely make many more of these.

They’ll be available in my artfire and etsy shops. See the links to the right.  I want to make some simple patterns for clothes that allow children to make their own clothes for them. I remember I liked to do that when I was a kid myself.

For my next month of weeks in this yearly challenge I’ve decided to work with polymer clay. It’s something I’ve always wanted to try, and the opportunity to try to create a cake topper for my son’s wedding seems like just the right reason to take that leap. Also, I just took a terrarium class at Ballantyne Gardens  (which is my new favorite place), and I’m in a mood to create miniatures. I love miniatures! Some day I’ll grow up, but not this day. Today, I dressed the bride and groom, and made a few random little doodads just for fun. A pumpkin, a quilt rack, (wonder if I can make a quilt tiny enough for it), some lacrosse sticks. I’ll share those next week and let you know what I learn as I go along my merry way. For instance, it’s not the play dough I played with so many years ago, but just as much fun. I do have a greater respect for clay artists tonight. Those tiny faces are hard to sculpt!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2012 6:45 pm

    They turned out really cute! You did a wonderful job. 🙂

  2. June 7, 2012 7:26 pm

    Pretty cute!

Leave a Reply

