Skip to content

My First Blogger’s Quilt Festival

May 19, 2012

I’ve taken a bit of time off from my dolls to ooh and aah over some amazing quilts today. I’ve been heard to say things like holey moley, and wow, awesome, oh my word, unbelievable, look, even the back is amazing!  It’s the Blogger’s Quilt Festival hosted by Amy’s Creative Side. What a show! If you’re a quilter, artist, or lover of color, you have to check this out. I’ve chosen to share this quilt for my first ever festival entry.

I made it with some friends from the Quilts and Heirlooms team on etsy. They provided most of the blocks and I put it together. The tree house in the center is actually crocheted. The creator of it didn’t think it would work, but when I saw it I knew it had to be part of the quilt, so I got creative with  some hand dyed fabric to frame their beautiful work. I chose to hand quilt it with a garden of morning glories.

This quilt has some traditional blocks and some quite innovative house blocks, exactly what I was hoping for when I chose the house theme. It was like Christmas getting these beautiful blocks in the mail.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2012 4:26 pm

    What a beautiful quilt! I bet you had a great time. 🙂

  2. citricsugar permalink
    May 20, 2012 5:19 am

    This is beautiful – thanks for sharing!

  3. May 20, 2012 5:45 am

    Lovely sampler quilt! I love the blocks settings.

  4. May 20, 2012 11:54 am

    Lovely, fabulous the center is crochet! Wow!

  5. May 20, 2012 3:00 pm

    Houses are my very favourite theme for quilt blocks! Thanks for sharing this one!

  6. May 21, 2012 12:36 am

    What a unique quilt. I love it!

  7. May 22, 2012 6:54 am

    I love your quilt. The center block is fantastic.

  8. May 22, 2012 9:20 am

    It is lovely, how great to have something made with blocks from other people too. Juliex

  9. May 25, 2012 10:22 pm

    wonderful wonkky blocks
    Ann

  10. May 25, 2012 11:47 pm

    What a great job you’ve done in pulling together all those blocks into an innovative and fun quilt! Your setting is very imaginative and the wonderful outcome is a credit to you!

Trackbacks

  1. Framing Great Grandma’s quilt blocks « Write on the World

Leave a Reply

