Skip to content

My Own 365 Day Project

May 3, 2012

I am reading the book “365: A Daily Creativity Journal” by Noah Scalin in hopes that I can kick my creative self into action. Noah spent a year making a skull a day and documents his adventure and those of others on his blog. http://makesomething365.blogspot.com/p/share.html
After thinking about it for a bit I’ve come up with the following rules for my own 365 Days of Creativity starting on or around May 1st, 2012.
1. Noah’s book says “How to use this book, the only rule is: There are no rules!”  Gotta love that.
2. Don’t think, do, because honestly,  if I over think it, I’ll spend too much time deciding what it is I want to do in the first place. (any other creative people out there recognize that problem?)
3. My 365 days will be called 52 weeks: how much can I learn and create? Some of my ideas will take more than a day, and I want to stretch myself.
4. Every week or month or so, I’ll work on a new idea.
5. I’ll try very hard to document my fun once a week.
6. That’s it, no more rules, it’s an adventure after all.

Oh, yes, and while I’m at it, why not use some of the goodies I already have right in my studio?

Last week, a friend gave me some fabrics and while I was sorting it out, I noticed that some of it would make adorable doll dresses, so I had decided to make dolls for starters, maybe a month of dolls, maybe more. A couple of days later, I got an order for a knitted lacrosse doll and another customer asked for some miniature doll-sized lacrosse sticks. How’s that for serendipity? Also, I’m working on polymer clay dolls for my son’s wedding cake topper, so maybe some doll house furniture would be fun to make, and a big challenge, since I usually use fabric and yarn in my work.
In that vein, here’s a doll I made last summer. Remember The Patchwork Girl of Oz?

Leave a Reply

