Skip to content

An Island of Peace in a Sea of Chaos

October 20, 2010

Quiet is a precious thing. If you’ve ever had a loud puppy in your home you know what I mean. He is named for Loki, the Norse god of mischief. It suits him. Even with a tag team of three, my husband, my son (his owner) and me, he’s a challenge. Mornings are especially chaotic. We have an older dog, Moose and it’s a bit of a dance, keeping Moose out while feeding Loki, getting Moose’s food ready, putting Loki out so Moose can eat, all while trying to keep a whirlwind of barking fluff quiet so that everyone else can sleep peacefully. All that insanity is taken care of now, semi successfully, Loki hasn’t figured out what No Barking means yet. Right this minute though, it’s quiet. Everyone else is asleep, including the two dogs. Aahhh, peace!  It won’t last for long. Soon someone will wake up and the whirlwind will start all over again.  Now I can take a moment to figure out what I’m going to do with my day. There is fabric to dye for a space quilt. I have some things to photograph and put in my shop, some internet connections to make. All that will have to wait. I’m going to sit here with  breakfast and a cup of  tea and enjoy this moment. My point is, You have to stop and recognize these moments. Store them up in your memory. They come few and far between sometimes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 4:09 am

    ..and they are relaxing peacefully indeed. A nice duo.

Leave a Reply

