Skip to content

A New Challenge

July 26, 2010

A friend of mine on the Quilts and Heirlooms Team at Etsy recently gave me the idea for a new quilt. It will be a landscape quilt and I thought it would be a great opportunity to document my process from the first thought to the finished quilt. My very first thought is “what about all the other projects I’m working on?” I ignore that because, after all, a challenge is a challenge. My next thoughts are, “Do I want the quilt to be realistic, whimsical, impressionistic? What about size? Should it come from a photograph,

or do I want to try to “draw” the picture as I go along? Maybe I want to actually draw it out and take the patterns from that?”

I brought the camera with me as I wandered around the house looking for inspiration. Just as I started to do this a book came in the mail from my son with a picture of mountains, so there’s an idea. I love mountains. Out came the scrapbook of our trip to Alaska.

Next I went down to my studio to look at my books and magazines. I am pretty sure nature will play a big part in this quilt, maybe some fairies, an animal or two. By now I’m thinking a more simple whimsical approach is what I want, so I find my animal stencils and a children’s coloring book, even a story book from many years ago when my sons were young. A dinosaur coloring book found its way into the pile because it would be great for a little boy’s quilt. Another project for another time.

Finally, I began thinking maybe this will be my own personal landscape in the quilt, so I went out to the garden to take photos of my own landscape. While I was there, I took some shots of my cucumbers and tomatoes. I doubt that they’ll be in the quilt, but you never know.

It may not be visible here, but I have a much clearer idea about the direction I’m going in. I’ll have to mull it over for a day or two. Stay tuned for step two in the Great Landscape Challenge!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 11:59 am

    It’s interesting to learn about the process quilters use to get to their destination. I would like to make a landscape quilt as well, but not before the 31st!

Leave a Reply

