Skip to content

Fool Proof Sudoku Quilt

July 16, 2010
tags: ,

First of all, a sudoku quilt is THE most unrandom way to make a quilt look random. A sudoku puzzle is a 3 x 3 grid. Each box is made up of 9 numbers. The numbers don’t repeat in a box or in rows, across or down. So how do you make this into a quilt? Here’s the way I did it.
First, get a sudoku puzzle and solve it. OK, to make it even easier, use the answer in back of the book. I get my daily sudoku fix in my newspaper. I picked out nine great fabrics. This is the fun part! Then, I assigned numbers to the fabrics, cut them up, labeled them, and followed the puzzle. The labels are the secret to a proper sudoku. Then again, if you don’t get it exactly right, it turns out to be actually random! I will definitely be doing this again, if only to have a reason to keep solving these addictive puzzles, and an excuse to play in my fabric stash.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

