Skip to content

A Gardening Book Review or Share the Garden Week Two

April 1, 2010

I haven’t gotten out into the garden this past week, so it looks pretty much the same. It will be warm this weekend though, so I’ll be out there working. I did look through some of my  gardening books. Here are a few of my favorites.

“Picking the Right Plant”,  Time Life book

This one has a long list of plants categorized by sun exposure, each with a lovely picture of the plant.  I use this book for research when I’m making my flower postcards. As a matter of fact, while I was looking at it today, I found the subject for my Friday flower challenge for this week on page 221. Check back Friday to see what I came up with.

“Gardening Basics, How to Design, Plant  and Maintain Your Garden”  by Ken Beckett, Steve Bradley, Noel Kingsbury and Tim Newbury

The title says it all.  It takes you from the very beginning stages of design to the finished product. There is information about planning a garden as well as paving and patio work. The best part about this book though, is the pictures. Gardening is all about color and beauty and inspiration and this book is inspiring.

“Home Landscaping, Plants, Projects, and Ideas for Your Yard”, a Better Home and Gardens book

This is another picture book for me.  It also has very good instructions for the hardware of garden landscaping, such as patios and raised beds and pergolas.

“The Garden Primer” by Barbara Damrosch

This is the book I go to when I really need to learn how to do something. It has a wealth of information on just about every gardening project and it makes everything simple, even for me. It’s not a picture book though, just really good information.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

