Skip to content

Handmade Professional

February 26, 2010

I’m in the last minute stages of getting ready for a big three day craft show, my first big show. What a ride!
I knew there was a great deal to think about, lots of little details, but whew, it’s so much more than I expected! This is a regional market style of show that will be opened every weekend, so I’m hoping to do well enough to open up shop there once a month. Being new to all of this, and not having a great deal of capital behind me yet, I have to rely on my own ingenuity and advice from many wonderful friends I have made on the Internet to set up my own brand. That is the most exciting part of all of this so far. A trip to the local thrift shop yielded much of my set up. Two headboards and a couple of lace curtains to be exact. A wonderful and innovative husband willing to saw wood and bolt things together helps. Not to mention the part where I rant and he listens patiently.

As I put together my booth, create pricing signs, prepare my cashier’s corner and paperwork, it occurs to me that while I certainly want to look professional so that consumers take me seriously, I need to keep my handmade style in mind. For an artisan, professionalism just isn’t enough. Bixbe.Biz uses the term verysmallbusiness for what I do, meaning that it’s just little ole me.

So if you happen to be in Syracuse, New York this weekend, stop by the grand opening of the Paradise Market. I’ll be under the Tahiti sign. Drop in and let me know how I’m doing!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 11:07 am

    Good luck! I’d love to see a picture of your set up.

Leave a Reply

