Skip to content

Word of the Day

November 18, 2009

“>

I’ve been thinking this morning about a word I thought I just made up. It is mundanity. I used it as a comparison to fantasy. Reality wasn’t quite the word I wanted. In my mind, and since I invented the word I get to define it, mundanity is reality seen in a new way. For example, I could say in my imaginary diary:

I woke up at 7:21, fed the dog, checked on my emails, ate breakfast.

Or, I could look at it all this way:

I snuck out of bed at 7:21, so as not to awake any dreamers nearby. There is no better morning greeter than a waggy tailed Moose looking for his breakfast. A quick stop by the computer to see if the internets have vanished while I slept and then off to my own breakfast, a crossword puzzle, and a cup of tea.

Now which morning routine would you rather have? Yet both are the same, mundanity is all in how you look at your life.

When I went looking for the word mundanity to make sure I made it up, I found that someone had already come up with a definition or two for it. This isn’t really a problem since these are the definitions I found:

1.sophistication: the quality or character of being intellectually sophisticated and worldly through cultivation or experience or disillusionment

2.ordinariness: the quality of being commonplace and ordinary

Now, these seem like two absolutely opposite ideas to me, but if you put them together I think you probably get something like:

reality seen in a new way

So in my diary tonight I won’t write: “Darn it, I thought I invented a new word and found out I hadn’t”,
I’ll write “I intuited a meaning for a word I didn’t even know existed before today”.

It isn’t fantasy (which, don’t get me wrong, is a wonderful thing and important to our well being), it’s your everyday life and how you choose to define it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

