Skip to content

Suggested Reading for the Up and Coming Artist

November 14, 2009
The first task I have in this new career of  mine is to write up a business plan. Well, first I have to decide how I want to sell my work. Retail or wholesale? Should I use consignment shops and do craft shows? Should I start my own website? What about taxes and insurance? Advertising and finding time in the middle of all this to actually make something to sell. Basiclly, where do I want to be one year from now? I have spent quite a bit of time and energy researching craft marketing over the years and there is a great deal still to learn, but here are some books that I have found helpful in my journey. All of these questions and more are answered in them.

“Selling Your Dolls and Teddy Bears” by Barb Lawrence Giguere and Carol-Lynn Rossel Waugh

This book has information that will help all handcrafters. I especially like the tips on photography and marketing yourself as an artistic personality.

“Creative Cash” by Barbara Brabec

This is a comprehensive book that begins with figuring out what craft you want to sell, takes you through the steps of starting a business and gives advice from seasoned sellers.

“Craft Inc.” by Meg Mateo Ilasco

This book has information about every aspect of craft businesses, from the beginning on up to the point where you need to hire employees to help out. It is the most recent of these books, so it also has some information about the internet that the others lack.

“The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron

This book has no advice about marketing art, but it is probably the most important of all the books I’ve read in my quest to become a marketable artist. It is the place where I can go when I need a reminder of why it is I have anything to sell in the first place. None of it would be possible if I did not listen to the inner child that simply must create this art.

And finally, one I haven’t read yet but plan to. It sounds like a step away from the everyday mundane aspects of marketing and just the thing for an artist to play at.

“Can We Do That? Outrageous PR Stunts That Work- And Why Your Company Needs Them” by Peter Shankman

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 1:20 pm

    Great list! I’ve read a couple of Barbara Brabec’s books and they had a lot of good information. I’ll have to see if my library has the others. Thanks for posting this:)

Leave a Reply

