Skip to content

My Dream Comes True

November 1, 2009
Two days ago I retired from the US Postal Service.  I have spent much of the last 30 years of my life in a dark, windowless dusty building. Most of that 30 years was working nights. You’d think I’d be thrilled to be gone from there, and I am. If you have ever seen the movie Dear God with Greg Kinnear and Tim Conway, you may not know it, but the characters are eerily realistic, from the zaniness, to the team spirit that chooses to do good in difficult situations. I will carry the zany characters I have met, and some more normal types,  with me as I go out into the real world. I doubt that I will remember the body aches or the constant exhaustion that comes with working nights, but I will remember that we did an excellent job under less than optimal conditions. We kept each other sane and safe and in the end we really did get the mail out every single night, almost always to the right adress and in one piece. (Sorry if you were one of the few who can say that didn’t work). What I’ll take with me is the fact that I still enjoy going out to my mailbox every day and when I think of my old life I’ll smile, partly because I’m free of it but mostly because it was a good life in spite of it all.

Now to get to my next life. The best thing about this retirement is that I am only (soon to be) 50 years old. I don’t really think of this as retirement so much as a change in career paths. The freedom of being my own boss more than makes up for the reduced pension I accepted. I have been quilting for 18 years and knitting and crocheting for closer to 40 years. These are my favorite things and I intend for my next career to include them. My new workplace is my Starry Home where I create and market my quilts, jackets, ornaments, dolls, frames, a whole smorgasbord of handcrafted goodness.

There are so many things I’ve been planning to do all my life, many of them simply involve relaxing. That is what this adventure is all about, not what I did over my summer vacation, but what I did after my summer vacations were all over.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 11:25 am

    You’re off to a great start with your blog! May retirement be wonderful!

  2. November 3, 2009 5:17 pm

    A very nice blog. And God bless you with your new venture. Do you still stay up all night out of habit?

  3. November 4, 2009 2:49 pm

    Stormee, it’s surprising how quickly I got back to sleeping nights! I do feel as if I should be working instead of sleeping though. I am tempted to stay up 22 hours like I used to every Monday, just to see how much I could get done.

Leave a Reply

